Our People

Trust team

Our people and their dedication to providing high-quality education are a key part of what makes our Trust special.

For further information on Trustees & Members also see the Get Information on School site.

Stephen Munday

Chief Executive Officer

Formerly Headteacher at William Edwards for seven years, Steve was appointed full time CEO of SWECET in July 2018. Having led William Edwards through successful academisation as an early Outstanding convertor school in 2011, he has been instrumental in the formation and growth of SWECET including gaining DfE approval to build our new secondary school, Orsett Heath Academy. Steve is also an accredited facilitator of NPQH and NPQSL training.

Christina Pumfrey

Primary Executive Headteacher

A vastly experienced and highly successful Headteacher both in Thurrock and Havering. Christina joined the Trust in 2017 and led Deneholm Primary through rapid improvement to a successful inspection and significantly improved outcomes at KS2. She now supports our Primary Heads with all aspects of school improvement. She also provides consultancy on school improvement to a successful London Borough.

Peter Melville

Chief Operating Officer

Peter was appointed as the COO in 2015 and leads the Trust’s central finance team comprising four colleagues. He is ISBL Associate Practitioner (London) and Specialist Leader of Education (Academy Conversion). Peter is also a Trustee at the Southend East Community Academies Trust. Previously, Peter led two School Sports Partnerships.

Steven Ball

HR Director

Steve joined SWECET in 2018 and has quickly established the Trust central HR team comprising four colleagues supporting our schools with all their HR and payroll needs. He has more than fifteen years educational HR experience across a range of settings. Before joining SWECET he worked with the largest academy trust in the country. Steve is a Chartered Fellow of CIPD and has a master's degree in HR management.

School leaders

Stephen Munday

Chief Executive Officer

As above.

Christina Pumfrey

Primary Executive Headteacher (Chadwell St Mary Primary School, Deneholm Primary School & Stifford Clays Primary School)

As above

Neil Frost

Headteacher, Marshalls Park Academy

Neil has previously held senior roles including a Deputy Headship in Norwich and then within the national Ormiston Trust before starting at Marshalls Park Academy.

Simon Bell

Headteacher, William Edwards School

Simon has previously held senior roles across schools in Southend and was previously the Deputy Headteacher at William Edwards School before becoming Headteacher in 2018.

We are currently experiencing issues with our vacancies section. Please call 01375 486 000 to speak to a member of our team